Semax
Also called Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro, MEHFPGP, ACTH(4–7)PGP, Семакс1, 11
We may earn a commission from links on this page. It never decides our picks. How we make money

Semax is a 7-amino-acid peptide built from a piece of the stress hormone ACTH, with no hormone effect of its own. Russia registers it as prescription nasal drops for stroke and memory problems after vascular brain disease.11, 12 Its stroke trials are small, published in Russian and often linked to the developing institute.28 FDA's 2026 review left out Russian-language papers, so it did not weigh those trials, and it found the evidence it did review insufficient for stroke, migraine or nerve pain.1 No published controlled study shows it sharpens focus or memory in healthy people.22 Since October 28, 2026, HHS has said it won't act against licensed pharmacies that compound semax free base as a nasal product, with a prescription.6
See every peptide's status in the regulatory tracker
In this guide
At a glance
| What it is | A synthetic 7-amino-acid peptide: the ACTH(4–7) fragment plus a Pro-Gly-Pro tail that slows its breakdown1, 23 |
|---|---|
| Forms | Free base and acetate salt. The HHS policy covers only the free base, as a nasal product1, 6 |
| Best evidence | Small Russian stroke trials, from 30 to 110 patients, added to standard care14, 16 |
| Approved in | Russia, as 0.1% and 1% nasal drops, by prescription11, 12 |
| No good evidence for | Focus, memory or productivity in healthy people, ADHD, migraine, nerve pain1, 22 |
| Legal status | Not FDA-approved. Free base can be compounded for nasal use, with a prescription, under HHS enforcement discretion6, 7 |
| In sport | Not named on WADA's 2026 list. Ask your anti-doping agency before use25 |
| Main risks | Nasal irritation. FDA flags immune reactions, impurities, a possible bleeding risk and a dopamine effect seen in mice1, 11 |
| Typical cost | No US price posted yet. One provider has a waitlist27 |
Where to get it
MoveWell sells no peptides. All options and prices
Lists a semax nasal spray on a waitlist, with no price yet. Its peptides need a clinician review and prescription.27
See SuperpowerMolecular structure
A short straight chain of 7 amino acids. The first four come from ACTH. The last three, Pro-Gly-Pro, were added to make it last longer.

The Pro-Gly-Pro tail (residues 5 to 7)
- Sequence
- MEHFPGP
- Length
- 7 amino acids
- Formula
- C37H51N9O10S
- Weight
- 813.9 g/mol
- Acetate
- C39H55N9O12S, 874.0 g/mol
- CAS
- 80714-61-0
- FDA UNII
- I5FAL2585H (free base)
Drawn from the sequence FDA and HHS list. Formula and weight are for the free base, the form HHS covers.1, 6
What it is
ACTH is a stress hormone that tells the adrenal glands to make cortisol. Short pieces of it, such as ACTH(4–10), affect the brain without that hormone effect. Semax was designed from this idea at the Institute of Molecular Genetics in Moscow; by 1997 its developers described 15 years of work on it.13 FDA calls it "a synthetic analogue of the ACTH 4-10 fragment."1
In practice it keeps ACTH's amino acids 4 to 7 (Met-Glu-His-Phe) and adds Pro-Gly-Pro, which slows its breakdown.23 The Russian label describes it as having no hormonal activity.11 Its sibling selank, from the same institute, uses the same Pro-Gly-Pro tail on a different peptide.
In Russia, PEPTOGEN sells two prescription nasal drops. The 0.1% drops are for memory and thinking problems after vascular brain disease, stroke recovery, brain injury and some optic nerve conditions. The 1% drops are for the acute phase of moderate or severe ischemic stroke, alongside other treatment.11, 12 Russia classes it as a nootropic.11
"Semax" is a common name, not an official US drug name. FDA said nominations were unclear about which salt was meant, so it reviewed both.1 HHS describes only the free base.6 Modified versions sold online, such as "N-acetyl semax amidate," are different molecules.
How it works
What's known comes from rodents and lab work.1
- Many effects in rodents. FDA lists brain protection after blocked blood flow, blood-thinning, pain relief and anti-anxiety effects. It calls semax "pleiotropic."1
- Brain growth factors. Earlier rat stroke studies found it raised the activity of genes for nerve growth factors and their receptors, as a 2021 rat study summarizes.23
- Enzyme blocking. In human serum in a dish, it slowed enzymes that break down the body's own opioid-like peptides.24
- Getting to the brain. In rats, a nasal dose put more of it in the brain than an IV dose, though still under 0.1% of the dose. Its main breakdown product was Pro-Gly-Pro.1
No study has measured how the human body absorbs or clears it, by any route.1
Evidence map
Each claimed use is graded separately, because the evidence differs by use.
Small Russian trials added to standard care. Randomization and blinding often not described
Rat studies, developer reports and two brain-scan studies with no memory or focus outcome
Two tiny open studies. In nerve pain the authors found no pain relief on its own
One Russian comparison in glaucoma damage, with no sample size in the abstract
On the Russian label for children, but FDA found no supporting studies
Scale: 5 FDA-approved, 4 strong human, 3 limited human, 2 animal or lab only, 1 anecdotal
Key studies
| Use | Study | Model | Finding |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acute stroke | Gusev 199714, 15 | Human n=30 vs 80 | Added to intensive care, faster recovery of movement and other deficits than standard care. Randomization not stated |
| Stroke rehab | 2018 study16 | Human n=110 | Two 10-day courses. Higher blood BDNF and faster gains in daily-living scores than without semax. Randomization not stated |
| Acute stroke | Shmonin 201817 | Meta-analysis 3 trials, n=181 | Better stroke scores vs placebo in some subgroups. Authors call for a large double-blind trial |
| Migraine | Koroleva 1996, via FDA1 | Human n=12, no control | One nasal dose. Headache stopped in 4 of 12; in the rest, pain eased but didn't stop |
| Nerve pain | Koroleva 1996, via FDA1 | Human n=25, no control | No change in typical trigeminal neuralgia. Authors: no pain relief "by itself" |
| Brain networks | Lebedeva 201819 | Human n=24 healthy | Brain-scan changes 5 to 20 minutes after a nasal dose vs placebo. No memory or focus test |
| Brain networks | Panikratova 202020 | Human n=52 healthy | Semax, selank or placebo. Changes in amygdala connections. No clinical outcome |
| Glaucoma | Vestn Oftalmol 200121 | Human n not given | A treatment package with semax beat standard nerve-protecting treatment on eye tests |
A 2024 review by Russian authors counts 13 stroke studies with 1,011 patients from 1997 to 2023, but gives no pooled effect.18 FDA counted human use in roughly 33 to 47 healthy adults, 69 adults with medical conditions and 451 children, all by the nasal route. It left out Russian-language papers, including the stroke trials above, and for stroke it reviewed only one meeting abstract.1 We found no trial registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Even a provider that plans to sell it says the human evidence is "small, mostly Russian studies not independently replicated."28
By goal and route
Pick your goal to see what the evidence supports.
| Nasal | Injection | Blends | |
|---|---|---|---|
| HHS policy | Covered, free base only | Not covered | Not covered |
| Human evidence | Small Russian trials, mostly stroke | None found | None |
| Known risks | Nasal irritation; one FDA report of eye pain | FDA cites immune reactions; no absorption data | Unknown |
| Cost | No US price posted yet | No legal source | No legal source |
Sources: HHS policy terms,6, 7 FDA briefing,1 Russian labels,11, 12 Superpower.27
How it's used
We don't give a dose. No US-standard trial has set one.
In Russia it is given as nose drops. The 1% stroke product is used in daily 10-day courses, with the amount set by a doctor according to stroke severity.12 Stroke studies used much higher amounts in the acute phase than in later rehab.14, 18 FDA found no study of semax by injection under the skin, and no human study of how it is absorbed by any route.1 We report these as information, not instruction.
Side effects and who should avoid it
- Nasal irritation. The Russian label lists mild irritation of the nose lining with long use as its side effect.11, 12
- Eye pain. FDA's adverse event database has one report: eye pain and burning after semax 0.1% nasal drops, with a hospital stay reported.1
- Bleeding. Semax thinned blood in rodents. FDA says this "raises concern about the risk of bleeding, particularly in certain populations at risk for bleeding."1
- Dopamine. In mice, semax boosted amphetamine's dopamine release. FDA notes this response is "typically induced by drugs of abuse."1
- Immune reactions and impurities. FDA "cannot rule out the potential for immunogenicity," and the certificates it reviewed listed unidentified impurities and no endotoxin testing.1, 10
- No safety studies. FDA found no repeat-dose or reproductive toxicity studies, and the one cancer study was not adequately designed.1
- Who should avoid it. The Russian labels rule it out with acute psychiatric illness, anxiety disorders or a history of seizures. The 0.1% drops are not for children under 7, and the 1% drops are not for under-18s. Neither is for use in pregnancy or breastfeeding.11, 12
- Online products. A Belgian medicines lab found semax and selank in seized products sold as cognitive enhancers, as powders for injection and as nasal sprays.26
FDA noted approved treatments exist for stroke, migraine and trigeminal neuralgia.1 A stroke is an emergency: call 911.
Compared with
| Semax | Selank | |
|---|---|---|
| Built from | ACTH(4–7), from a stress hormone | Tuftsin, from an antibody |
| Russian use | Nootropic: stroke, thinking problems | Anti-anxiety |
| Human trials | Small, mostly stroke | Small, anxiety, vs benzodiazepines |
| FDA advisers | Voted 8–5–1 for, Jul 2026 | Never reviewed |
| HHS policy | Free base, nasal only | Not covered |
Sources: FDA briefing,1 Russian labels,11 McDermott,4 HHS Appendix B.6 See our selank guide.
Stacks
Semax is often sold online mixed with selank in one nasal spray. We found no study of that mix. Any blend falls outside the HHS policy, which allows one active ingredient per product.6, 8
Myths vs evidence
All options and prices
MoveWell sells no peptides. Options inside the HHS policy first. Checked November 1, 2026
Licensed compounding, with a prescription
| Provider | Form | Price | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Superpower | Semax nasal spray | Not posted | Waitlist. Superpower's peptides need a clinician review and prescription27 |
Superpower's listing doesn't name the salt form. The HHS policy covers only semax free base.6 Compounded drugs are generally not covered by insurance.
Research use only products
The HHS policy excludes research chemicals, so we don't list sellers.7 In August 2026 FDA warned five peptide sellers that a "research use only" label doesn't excuse products clearly meant for people.29 Telehealth listings for semax from before October 28, 2026 predate any legal pathway, so we don't link them.
Legal status history
Newest first.
- Current statusHHS says it won't take action against licensed 503A pharmacies, federal facilities and licensed physicians that compound single-ingredient semax free base for nasal use, with a prescription. Not FDA-approved. Approved in Russia.6, 7, 11
- A formal rule to add semax to the 503A bulks list. Comments on the HHS policy close two weeks after Federal Register publication, which was scheduled for Oct 30, 2026.8, 9
- HHS enforcement discretion policy for semax and five other peptides. Not approval, and interim until a final rule.7, 8
- FDA's compounding advisory committee votes 8–5–1 in favor, for the free base and acetate. The uses reviewed were cerebral ischemia (reduced blood flow to the brain), migraine and trigeminal neuralgia. The vote is advisory.2, 3, 4, 5
- FDA staff review recommends against listing: poorly characterized, insufficient evidence, no human absorption data, and approved treatments exist.1
- Moved off Category 2 to FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. That did not make it legal to compound.6, 10
- Russia re-registers semax 0.1% nasal drops under a new number.11
- Placed in Category 2, citing immune risk and too little safety data for the proposed routes.6, 10
What the HHS policy covers
| Form | Semax free base only (H-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-OH) |
|---|---|
| Routes | Nasal use only |
| Who | State-licensed 503A pharmacies, federal facilities and licensed physicians |
| Conditions | A patient-specific prescription. One active ingredient. Ingredient from an FDA-registered, CGMP-compliant maker with a full testing certificate. Serious side effects reported to FDA and the state. The label "This is a compounded drug product. Not for resale." |
| Excluded | Semax acetate, injections, blends, 503B outsourcing facilities, research chemicals and supplements |
| Standing | Not FDA approval. HHS may revise or withdraw it if safety or quality problems arise |
Sources: HHS Appendix B,6 BakerHostetler,7 FDA Law Blog.8 See every peptide's status in the regulatory tracker.
FAQ
Is semax legal in the US?
Single-ingredient semax free base can be compounded by a licensed pharmacy for nasal use, with a prescription, under an HHS policy from October 28, 2026. That is not FDA approval. Injections, the acetate salt, blends and research products are outside the policy.
Is it FDA-approved?
No. FDA staff recommended against adding it to the compounding list. It is approved in Russia.
Does it improve focus or memory?
Not shown in healthy people. The human studies are mainly in stroke patients, and the two studies in healthy volunteers measured brain scans, not thinking.
Does it help after a stroke?
Small Russian studies report faster recovery when it's added to standard care, but their design is often not described. FDA did not weigh those Russian-language trials, called the evidence it reviewed insufficient, and noted approved stroke treatments exist.
What dose do people use?
We don't give one. No trial to US standards has set a dose.
Can athletes use it?
It isn't named on WADA's 2026 list. Its status is unclear, so check with your anti-doping agency first.
Is it the same as selank?
No. Both come from the same Russian institute and share a Pro-Gly-Pro tail, but semax is built from ACTH and selank from tuftsin. Only semax is in the HHS policy.
References
29 sources, with links
- FDA. Evaluation of semax-related bulk drug substances for inclusion on the 503A bulk drug substances list (review dated May 11, 2026). Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, Jul 23–24, 2026. fda.gov
- FDA. July 23–24, 2026 meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. fda.gov
- FDA. Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee draft agenda, Jul 23–24, 2026. fda.gov
- McDermott Will & Schulte. Bulk-list bound: PCAC backs majority of peptides in two-day public meeting (Jul 27, 2026). Link
- AmSpa. FDA advisory committee recommends adding six of seven peptides to compounding list (Jul 24, 2026). Link
- HHS. 503A peptide enforcement discretion policy, Appendix B. hhs.gov
- BakerHostetler. HHS issues enforcement discretion policy regarding 503A compounding using certain peptide bulk drug substances (Oct 28, 2026). Link
- Palmer KL, Snow CD. The PEPTIDE-L wave reaches HHS: enforcement discretion… not the finish line. FDA Law Blog (Oct 28, 2026). Link
- Federal Register. HHS notice of availability, peptide enforcement discretion policy, FR Doc. 2026-22192 (public inspection). federalregister.gov
- FDA. Certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks (current as of Apr 22, 2026). fda.gov
- Vidal (Russia). Semax 0.1% nasal drops, PEPTOGEN, registration ЛП-№(009449)-(РГ-RU). vidal.ru
- Medi.ru. Semax 1% nasal drops, instructions for use, registration Р N000812/01. medi.ru
- Ashmarin IP et al. Nootropic analog of adrenocorticotropin 4-10, Semax (15 years of experience in its design and study). Zh Vyssh Nerv Deiat Im I P Pavlova 1997;47(2):420–430. PMID 9173745
- Gusev EI et al. Semax efficiency in acute period of hemispheric ischemic stroke (clinical and electrophysiological study). Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 1997;97(6):26–34. Index record
- Gusev EI, Skvortsova VI, Zhuravleva EJ, Vanichkin AV. Usage of neurospecific peptide substance "semax" in acute period of ischemic insult. Neurology Bulletin 1997;29(3–4):32–38. DOI 10.17816/nb80150
- The efficacy of semax in the treatment of patients at different stages of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova 2018;118(3 Vyp 2):61–68. PMID 29798983
- Shmonin AA et al. Meta-analysis: Semax effectiveness in the acute period of stroke. Vestnik Vosstanovitelnoy Meditsiny 2018;2(84). Link
- Spirin NN, Fedorov VN, Vdovichenko VP. The oligopeptide H-Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro-OH in the therapy and rehabilitation of ischemic stroke. Zh Nevrol Psikhiatr Im S S Korsakova Spetsvypuski 2024;124(8-2):56–63. DOI 10.17116/jnevro202412408256
- Lebedeva IS et al. Effects of Semax on the default mode network of the brain. Bull Exp Biol Med 2018. PMID 30225715
- Panikratova YR et al. Functional connectomic approach to studying Selank and Semax effects. Dokl Biol Sci 2020;490(1):9–11. PMID 32342318
- Semax in the treatment of glaucomatous optic neuropathy in patients with normalized ophthalmic tone. Vestn Oftalmol 2001;117(4):5–8. PMID 11569188
- Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Foundation. Cognitive Vitality for Researchers: Semax. PDF
- Sudarkina OY et al. Brain protein expression profile confirms the protective effect of the ACTH(4–7)PGP peptide (Semax) in a rat model of cerebral ischemia–reperfusion. Int J Mol Sci 2021;22(12):6179. PMC8226508
- Kost NV et al. Semax and selank inhibit the enkephalin-degrading enzymes from human serum. Bioorg Khim 2001;27(3):180–183. PMID 11443939
- World Anti-Doping Agency. 2026 Prohibited List (copy hosted by SEGAS). PDF
- Vanhee C et al. The occurrence of putative cognitive enhancing research peptides in seized pharmaceutical preparations. Drug Test Anal 2020;12(3):371–381. PMID 31667971
- Superpower. Peptides page (semax nasal spray waitlist). Link
- Superpower. Semax guide. Link
- ArentFox Schiff. RUO-ined: five peptide vendors learn research use only is not a legal strategy (Aug 2026). Link
This page is for education and is not medical advice. Semax is not FDA-approved. Talk to a clinician before using any peptide.