Inversion Tables and Back Stretchers for Back Pain: What the Evidence Shows
Inversion tables, chairs, gravity boots and back stretchers graded against the evidence: what the Cochrane traction review found, the surgery-avoidance pilot, blood pressure and eye pressure risks, who should not invert, and two picks with prices.
We may earn a commission from links on this page. It never decides our picks. How we make money
Last verified November 2, 2026. Every study, safety warning and price on this page links to the source we checked. Where we couldn't confirm something, we say so.
We have not tested these products ourselves.
The short answer
Who this is for: people with low back pain who are thinking about an inversion table, inversion chair, gravity boots or a back stretcher. Bottom line: the best review of traction for low back pain, 32 trials, found little or no benefit for pain, function or return to work1. Inversion may feel good for a while, but it isn't a proven treatment. It also raises blood pressure and eye pressure, so skip it if you have high blood pressure, heart disease, glaucoma or a past retinal detachment, or if you are pregnant6, 12. Exercise has much better evidence for chronic low back pain5. If you want a table anyway, buy a UL-listed one with a long return window.
Evidence map: graded by outcome
Grades: A consistent randomized trials or meta-analyses showing benefit. B benefit in randomized trials that are small or varied. C few or mixed trials, or well-tested with little or no benefit. D no trials; anecdote or theory only. X a safety signal.
| Outcome | Grade | Best evidence | Caveats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Low back pain: pain, function, return to work (traction of any kind) | C | Cochrane review, 32 randomized trials, 2,762 people: traction alone or with other treatment had little or no effect. Evidence certainty ranged from very low to moderate1. | Inversion is a form of traction. Manual and mechanical traction did no better than each other1. |
| Sciatica | C | Same review: traction probably has no effect on pain, function or overall improvement in people with sciatica1. | No trial reported return to work. |
| Avoiding disc surgery | C | Pilot trial, 24 people on a surgery waiting list: 10 of 13 in the inversion plus physiotherapy group avoided surgery, against 2 in the physiotherapy-only group. Pain and disability scores did not differ between groups2. | Small, single-center and unblinded for patients. The control group's percentages don't add up in the paper3. Teeter publicized it and says its table was used4. The authors called for a larger trial; we found none. |
| Short-term relief | D | Some people find it temporarily helpful as part of a wider program, but it doesn't give lasting relief6. | Expert opinion, not trial data. |
| Back wheels and arched stretchers | D | We found no published trials of back wheels or arched back stretchers. | Neither Chirp product page we read cites a trial14, 15. |
| Exercise therapy, for comparison | A | Cochrane review, 249 trials, 24,486 people with chronic low back pain: exercise cut pain by about 15 points on a 100-point scale compared with no treatment or usual care, and disability by about 7 points (moderate certainty)5. | The effect on disability is small. The review compared exercise with no exercise, not with inversion. |
| Blood pressure and eye pressure | X | Randomized study of 60 young women: systolic and diastolic pressure rose after 2 minutes inverted7. In 6 healthy people, eye pressure rose from about 14 to about 27 mmHg at only 30 degrees head-down8. Mayo Clinic says hanging upside down for more than a couple of minutes raises blood pressure and sharply raises eye pressure6. | One older study of 20 healthy men found blood pressure fell during repeated short inversions, while eye pressure still rose9. The effect depends on how you invert, but eye pressure goes up either way. |
| Falls and equipment failure | X | CPSC recalled about 2,000 Stamina inversion tables in 2008 after a central weld failed in three reports; no injuries were reported10. | Falls are the obvious risk of hanging by the ankles; buy a table with a safety certification and lock your ankles every time. |
The pattern: traction has been tested many times and doesn't help back pain much. The one inversion trial with a striking result was a small pilot. Exercise has far better evidence. See our lower back stretches and our guide to lumbago (low back pain).
Types of inversion and back-stretching devices
| Type | How it works | Trade-offs |
|---|---|---|
| Inversion table | You lock your ankles and tilt back on a padded bed. Most let you set a maximum angle. | The most controllable way to invert. Large, and you hang by your ankles. |
| Inversion chair | A seated version: you sit, secure your legs and tilt back. | Fewer models. The same head-down blood pressure and eye pressure effects. |
| Gravity boots | Ankle cuffs that hook onto a bar, so you hang fully upside down. | No angle control and you must pull yourself back up. Hardest to get out of if you feel unwell. |
| Back stretchers and wheels | Arched boards or wheels (like the Chirp Wheel) you lie or roll on to extend the spine. | No inversion, so no head-down pressure rise. No trials that we found. |
Picks
Given the evidence, we don't think most people with back pain need an inversion device. If you want to try one, we pick against these criteria:
- An independent safety certification (such as a UL listing) stated by the maker.
- Published user weight and height limits and a manual that lists who shouldn't use it.
- A return window long enough to find out whether it helps you (60 days or more), and a published warranty.
- Price checked on the seller's site on the date shown.
- Commission plays no part.
If you want an inversion table: Teeter FitSpine X1
Teeter says all its FitSpine tables are UL safety certified, and its owner's manual states the tables are listed by Underwriters Laboratories11, 12. The X1 takes users from 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in and up to 300 lb. It uses spring-loaded T-pin ankle locks. Teeter offers a 90-day trial (full refund minus return shipping) and a 5-year warranty. It was $349 on sale (regular $399) on teeter.com on November 2, 202611. Teeter calls its tables "FDA-registered" medical devices "indicated for 10 back pain conditions"11. Registration is a listing, not an FDA review of how well the table works; the page cites no 510(k) number. Teeter's manual lists a long set of conditions that need a doctor's approval first, which we summarize below12.
If you want to stretch without inverting: Chirp Wheel+
A back wheel lets you extend your upper and mid back without going head-down, so it avoids the blood pressure and eye pressure rise. There's no trial evidence for it, so treat it as a comfort tool. The Chirp Wheel+ 3-Pack was $89.99 on gochirp.com on November 2, 2026, with 30-day returns; the page lists a 1-year limited warranty in one place and a 10-year warranty in a Q&A answer, so check before you buy14. The XR version, aimed at deeper massage, was also $89.9915. It isn't for everyone: our Chirp Wheel review notes the larger wheels can be hard to balance on.
Not picked
- Budget inversion tables (Innova and similar): we couldn't find a maker's page that states a safety certification, so they fail criterion 1.
- Gravity boots: no angle control and the hardest to get out of quickly. We don't recommend them for back pain.
Price table
| Product | Type | Safety certification | User limits | Warranty | Returns | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teeter FitSpine X1 | Inversion table | UL (per Teeter) | 4 ft 8 in to 6 ft 6 in; up to 300 lb | 5 years | 90-day trial, minus return shipping | $349 (regular $399) |
| Chirp Wheel+ 3-Pack | Back wheel | None stated | Not stated on the product page | 1 year listed (10 years in a Q&A answer) | 30 days | $89.99 |
| Chirp Wheel XR 3-Pack | Back wheel (massage) | None stated | Not stated | Not stated | Free returns, continental US | $89.99 |
Who should not invert
Mayo Clinic says people with high blood pressure, heart disease or glaucoma should avoid inversion6. Teeter's own manual goes further and says not to invert without a doctor's approval if you have any of these12, 13:
- Heart and circulation: high blood pressure, raised stroke risk, or anticoagulant use (including high-dose aspirin).
- Brain: past head trauma, brain bleed, TIA or stroke, or severe headaches.
- Eyes, ears and balance: glaucoma, retinal detachment, eye pressure problems, eye trauma, middle or inner ear disease, vertigo or motion sickness.
- Bones and spine: osteoporosis, fractures, significant spinal curvature, acutely swollen joints, or surgical implants.
- Digestive: severe acid reflux, hernia (including hiatal hernia), gallbladder or kidney disease.
- Other: pregnancy, obesity, recent surgery, or neurological symptoms such as unexplained tingling, weakness or dizziness.
Using one more safely
- Get a doctor's OK first if any condition above applies, or if your back pain comes with leg weakness, numbness, or bladder or bowel changes.
- Set the table to your height and lock your ankles every time, as the manual describes12.
- Start at a shallow angle. You don't need to go fully upside down: in the eye study, pressure rose sharply even at 30 degrees8.
- Keep sessions short. Mayo warns that more than a couple of minutes inverted raises blood pressure and eye pressure6.
- Have someone nearby the first few times, and don't invert after alcohol or drowsy-making medicine12.
- Stop if you get a headache, eye pain, blurred vision, dizziness or more back or leg pain.
Myths
- "Inversion fixes herniated discs." The trial evidence for traction in sciatica shows little or no effect1. The surgery-avoidance pilot found no difference in pain or disability scores2.
- "FDA-registered means FDA-approved." Registration is a listing. It isn't a review of whether the device works.
- "Hanging longer stretches the spine more." Longer sessions raise blood pressure and eye pressure more6. No trial shows longer is better.
- "Inversion is safe for everyone without back problems." Eye pressure rose in healthy people in both studies we read that measured it8, 9.
FAQ
Do inversion tables work for back pain?
Not much, on the evidence. A Cochrane review of 32 traction trials found little or no effect on pain, function or return to work1. Some people get short-term relief6.
Can an inversion table help me avoid back surgery?
One small pilot trial found fewer people in the inversion group went on to surgery, but pain and disability didn't differ, and no larger trial has followed2. Talk to your surgeon before you rely on it.
Who should not use an inversion table?
Anyone with high blood pressure, heart disease, glaucoma, a past retinal detachment, recent surgery, osteoporosis or a hernia, and anyone who is pregnant, unless a doctor approves it6, 12.
How long should you stay inverted?
Follow the maker's manual and start short and shallow. Mayo Clinic notes that more than a couple of minutes upside down slows the heart, raises blood pressure and sharply increases eye pressure6.
Is an inversion table better than a Chirp Wheel?
Neither has good evidence for back pain. A wheel avoids going head-down, so it doesn't raise eye pressure the same way. See our Chirp Wheel review.
What helps back pain instead?
Exercise therapy has the strongest evidence for chronic low back pain5. Start with our lower back stretches and read our lumbago guide. For seating and supports, see Relax The Back.
Are Teeter tables FDA-approved?
Teeter describes them as FDA-registered medical devices11. That isn't approval or clearance, and the product page gives no 510(k) number.
References
PubMed was not reachable for some records, so a few trial details come from PEDro, the full-text PDF or an abstract index, as noted.
- Wegner I, Widyahening IS, van Tulder MW, et al. Traction for low-back pain with or without sciatica. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2013, Issue 8. CD003010. Source
- Prasad KSM, Gregson BA, Hargreaves G, Byrnes T, Winburn P, Mendelow AD. Inversion therapy in patients with pure single level lumbar discogenic disease: a pilot randomized trial. Disability and Rehabilitation, 2012;34(17):1473-1480. PEDro record. Source
- Prasad KSM, et al. 2012, full text (methods, exclusion criteria, funding, adverse events). Source
- Teeter. Pilot study sees reduction in need of back surgeries (press release, PR Newswire). 11 April 2012. Source
- Hayden JA, Ellis J, Ogilvie R, Malmivaara A, van Tulder MW. Exercise therapy for chronic low back pain. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2021, Issue 9. CD009790. Source
- Mayo Clinic (Mayo Clinic Care Network content). Inversion therapy: can it relieve back pain? Undated. Source
- Blood pressure response to inversion traction. Randomized study of 60 women aged 20 to 30 (abstract via Scilit; PubMed 2944136). Source
- Baer RM, Hill DW. Retinal vessel responses to passive tilting. Eye, 1990;4:751-756. Source
- Goldman RM, Tarr RS, Pinchuk BG, Kappler RE. The effects of oscillating inversion on systemic blood pressure, pulse, intraocular pressure, and central retinal arterial pressure. The Physician and Sportsmedicine, 1985;13(3):93-96. Source
- US Consumer Product Safety Commission. Inversion therapy tables recalled by Stamina Products due to fall hazard. 16 January 2008. Source
- Teeter. FitSpine X1 Inversion Table product page: price, user limits, UL and FDA wording, warranty and trial. Checked 2 November 2026. Source
- Teeter. FitSpine XC5 owner's manual: contraindications, 300 lb and 6 ft 6 in limits, UL listing, intended use. Source
- Teeter. FAQ: who should use it (conditions that need a doctor's approval). Checked 2 November 2026. Source
- Chirp. Chirp Wheel+ 3-Pack product page: price, warranty and returns. Checked 2 November 2026. Source
- Chirp. Chirp Wheel XR 3-Pack product page: price and description. Checked 2 November 2026. Source